Eating Vegan at Dairy Queen- All the Vegan Picks

Share this Post!:

Dairy Queen was founded back in 1940 in Illinois, and since its humble beginnings it has grown to become a fast food staple in over 20 countries. Many people consider this chain to be a go-to when you’re on the move or in the mood for a sweet treat. Although Dairy Queen has classic fast food items like burgers and fries, its most famous menu item is the Blizzard, a thick ice cream treat containing candies and flavorings. Despite the fact that most of Dairy Queen’s main menu items are distinctly non-vegan, vegans who find themselves at this beloved restaurant have a few options if they know how to look. At select locations, vegans can enjoy Dilly Bars, vegan ice cream bars made with coconut and chocolate ice cream. Along with this, the Vegan Unlocked secret menu, vegan menu and editor’s picks can guide any vegans who find themselves at Dairy Queen, whether you’re looking for a veggie-packed salad or a yummy sandwich.

The Vegan Unlocked Research Team analyzed all 100 items on the Dairy Queen menu. We came away with one custom creation and a few tasty on-menu options.

Dairy Queen has a score of 1 out of 5 stars as a vegan-friendly spot. Don’t expect a plethora of vegan options, but you can find a few to choose from.

This score is calculated based on the amount of vegan offerings on Dairy Queen’s menu “as is” or with an easy substitution, a restaurant vegan customizability score and finally the amount of vegan options vs non-vegan options. Learn more about how Vegan Unlocked Ratings are calculated.

Secret Menu

As much as we love a restaurant catered to vegans, this can be hard to find depending on your location and the cuisine you’re looking for. Because of this, figuring out your own vegan options is often the best way to approach a menu, whether you’re at a veggie-focused restaurant or a fast food pit stop. Although Dairy Queen is known for its dairy-filled blizzards and its indulgent burgers, there are plenty of vegan options to be found. Plus, the Vegan Unlocked research team did the work to create a customized vegan item for those looking for something not on the menu.

If you’re not in the mood to customize, scroll down to find the Dairy Queen vegan menu items and our editors’ top picks below this section.

Buffalo Potato Sandwich

Get an Original Cheeseburger and add lettuce, tomato and onions, adding extra flavor to the ketchup, mustard and pickles the burger comes with. Get a side of hashbrowns and a buffalo dipping cup. Hold the patty and the cheese and put everything together on your soft, toasted bun like a sandwich.

All Vegan Options on Dairy Queen Menu

What are all of the vegan options on the Dairy Queen menu?


  • Original Cheeseburger: Enjoy this classic burger, holding the burger patty and cheese and adding lettuce, tomato and onions.

Sides, Kids, Desserts

  • Side salad
  • Fries
  • Hash Browns
  • Applesauce
  • Banana
  • Kid’s Fries
  • Dilly Bars (at select locations)

Sauces, Add Ons, Toppings

  • Marzetti Light Italian Dressing
  • Wild Buffalo Dipping Sauce Cup
  • BBQ Dipping Sauce Cup
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Pickles
  • Lay’s® BBQ Potato Chips
  • Lay’s® Potato Chips – Original
  • Oven Baked Lay’s® Original Potato Crisps


  • Mango Misty® Slush
  • Misty® Slush
  • Mango Pineapple Light
  • OrangeBerry Xtreme Light
  • Pomegranate Berry Blast Light
  • Strawberry Banana Light
  • Strawberry Light
  • Strawberry Watermelon Sensation Light
  • Sunshine Orange Light
  • Tripleberry Light
  • Tropical Tango Light
  • Tropi-Colada Light
  • Coffee
  • Orange Juice Bottle

Editor’s Picks: What Are the Best Vegan Meals at Dairy Queen?

The modified Original Cheeseburger is the best vegan meal at Dairy Queen.

The Side Salad is the healthiest vegan meal.

The Fries are the best vegan meal for a group.

Note: Vegan Unlocked is a tool dedicated to helping people find plant-based options. We are not an allergen resource, and want to encourage our friends with allergies to proceed with caution. We cannot control and don’t always know when cross contamination takes place. See Dairy Queen’s allergen menu here. As far as cross-contamination of vegan foods with animal products, this is completely up to your comfort level as an individual. Read our stance on cross contamination

Frequently Asked Dairy Queen Questions

Are Dairy Queen fries vegan?

Yes, Dairy Queen’s fries are completely vegan.

Does Dairy Queen have vegan ice cream?

At select locations, Dairy Queen has Dilly Bars, made with vegan chocolate and coconut ice cream.

Are Dairy Queen onion rings vegan?

No, the onion rings at Dairy Queen contain whey, which is made from dairy.

You can find out more information on the Dairy Queen menu by visiting their website here.

Dining at Dairy Queen Soon?

Be sure to tag Vegan Unlocked and share your vegan meal or custom creation to be entered into our monthly giveaway!

Dairy Queen’s vegan menu was brought to you by…

Lydia Greene

Lydia Greene is a freelance writer with a passion for food and travel. When she’s not writing, you can find her hiking in the woods near her home in Portland, Oregon, cooking up a tasty meal or dreaming up her next adventure.

Cristina Garrido

Cristina is a vegan cook and recipe developer. She’s worked in several vegan kitchens, as a collaborator for different cooking blogs and now works as a consultant helping restaurants interested in making their menus more vegan-friendly. She’s passionate about cultural foods and culinary innovations. Her non-food related interests include thrifting, sustainability and exploring her new adoptive country, Portugal.

Share this Post!:

Related Posts

No more posts to show